Dry Skin Saviors

10 Jan

If your skin is anything like mine, it doesn’t get along with winter weather. At the very thought of a snow storm or brisk wind, my skin is packing its’ bags and retreating to some tropical vacation I wasn’t invited on, leaving me high and (literally) dry. Knowing I couldn’t tolerate anymore flakes of snow or skin, I began searching for a miracle. And although I didn’t cure chapped hands, I do have some products and tips to keep your skin touchable and smooth until the snow melts.

First and foremost, drink water. Hydration on the inside promotes hydration on the outside. Drinking water produces new skin cells; a good thing when the old ones have dried and flaked away, according to Ellen Marmur, MD and Gina Way, the authors of Simple Skin Beauty: Every Woman’s Guide to a Lifetime of Healthy, Gorgeous Skin (2009).  Don’t know how much to drink? Live by the “8×8” rule: eight ounce glasses of water, 8 times a day.

For all over your body, I recommend Bath and Body Works Lay It On Think Shea Butter Lotion. Creamy and rich, a small portion will cover a large area of your body, and leave you feeling soft all day. I put it on my legs right after I shave and they are still soft when I get into bed that night. The light almond scent still leaves room for your favorite perfume to be layered on top, and at $15 for 6 oz, it will last you all winter long.

While you’re shopping at Bath and Body Works, pick up their C.O. Bigelow Rose Salve. The salve can go anywhere from lips to dry elbows and the rose extract smells amazing. I love the retro-looking tin and classic feel of a multi-purpose solution. I throw this into my bag anytime I’m leaving the house. My favorite thing to do to is rub this on my cuticles. I haven’t had a hang nail this winter!

If your lips, hands, or anything are beyond dry and lotion isn’t working, I suggest an obscure little product called Vermont Bag Balm. Initially used by farmers on sore or bruise cow utters (I know, just keep reading) this sticky, medicinal smelling cream contains lanolin and really gets the job done. Not a product you want to wear on a first date, but put this anywhere dry before you go to bed and I promise you will notice a difference. If not, at least you own a product for poor ‘ole Bessie’s sore utters…right?

5 Responses to “Dry Skin Saviors”

  1. prettyforapenny January 10, 2011 at 1:55 am #

    Questions? Leave a comment!

    • happyface January 10, 2011 at 5:47 am #

      lay it on thick saved my hands!!! i worked in a nursing home and washed my hands constantly all day. the lotion saved me from cracking skin 🙂

    • Andrea January 10, 2011 at 9:21 am #

      Great tips, and funny to boot! I know a lot of people deal with dry skin in this part of the state during winter. I would also recommend, to you or anyone else with dry skin, Bath and Body Works’ Shea Cashmere Hand Lotion (from their True Blue Spa collection) and Curel’s Ultra Healing Intensive Lotion for Extra-Dry Skin. I use both daily and they are godsends!

      • prettyforapenny January 10, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

        Thanks for sharing Andrea! I love the Shea Cashmere but I’ve never tried Curel’s lotion.

  2. Sophie Sestero January 10, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    Oh yes! I’m so glad you did a post about dry skin! I’m really excited to try out this Rose Salve. Winter is murder for dry skin. Thanks for the great tips!

Leave a Reply

